kansas city chiefs

Top Chief: Patrick Mahomes Wins 2018 NFL MVP Award

Patricks Mahomes

Patrick Mahomes became the first Kansas City Chief ever to win the NFL Most Valuable Player award during Saturday night’s NFL Honors ceremony.

Mahomes decisively beat out New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees, receiving 41 of 50 votes to win the award. Brees received all other votes for Most Valuable Player.

Mahomes threw for 5,097 yards and 50 touchdowns en route to leading the Chiefs its first AFC title game since the 1993 season.

Kurt Warner remains the last player to win the NFL MVP and the Super Bowl in the same season. He led the then-St. Louis Rams to the franchise’s only Vince Lombardi Trophy during the 1999 season.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s