Joe Montana

Joe Montana Headlines Super Bowl 50 Golden Team

MontanaSB50The NFL announced its Super Bowl 50 Golden Team on Thursday in conjunction with the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The team is comprised of the best of the best from all 49 Super Bowls and features 22 Hall of Famers.

One of the most interesting dilemmas arose at the quarterback spot were there are a few suitable options to chose from including Tom Brady, Terry Bradshaw, Joe Montana, Troy Aikman, and Bart Starr.

Montana got the nod over all Sunday Sunday signal-callers including fellow four-time Super Bowl winners Bradshaw and Brady as the team’s quarterback.

Meanwhile, Pittsburgh Steelers leader Chuck Noll was selected as the team’s head coach over the only other coach to win four Super Bowls, Bill Belichick; and the man whom the trophy is named after – Vince Lombardi.

It’s evident that Montana and Noll’s 4-0 records carried a bit more weight with the voters from the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Board of Selectors than Brady and Belichick’s 4-2 mark.

Overall, the Steelers placed the most players on the team with eight. Meanwhile, the Cowboys landed six on the squad.

Here is a look at the Super Bowl 50 Golden Team:


QB – Joe Montana

RB – Franco Harris, Emmitt Smith

WR – Jerry Rice, Lynn Swann

TE – Jay Novacek

OT – Art Shell, Forrest Gregg

C – Mike Webster

G  – Larry Allen, Gene Upshaw


DE – Reggie White, Charles Haley

DT – Joe Greene, Randy White

ILB – Jack Lambert, Ray Lewis

OLB – Lawrence Taylor, Jack Ham

CB – Mel Blount, Deion Sanders

S – Ronnie Lott, Jake Scott


K – Adam Vinatieri

P – Ray Guy

RS – Desmond Howard

Head Coach – Chuck Noll

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s